Unbreakable Spiritual Lifeline

The following is taken from my SOAP journal notes.

Wait – WHAT is THAT? 

I’m glad you asked. SOAP is an acrostic for a Bible study method developed by Wayne Cordiero. You can learn more about it at Discover One Thing here. You’ll also find daily blog entries with several Godly folks’ SOAP notes to inspire and encourage you on your own journey of getting to know God better through His Word. Join us!

July 9 Life Journal Reading Plan: Mic.1-4; Heb.6

Unbreakable Spiritual Lifeline

S~ We who have run for our very lives to God have every reason to grab the promised hope with both hands and never let go. It’s an unbreakable spiritual lifeline, reaching past all appearances right to the very presence of God where Jesus, running on ahead of us, has taken up his permanent post as high priest for us, in the order of Melchizadek. Hebrews 6:18-20

 

O~ The readings for today could cause a person to wonder if this God of ours is schizophrenic, if they were read without context. How often in my life is it impossible to discern what God is doing – or allowing to be done? I get fearful and panicked when I forget that He is completely trustworthy and unchanging. He is above the fray of this everyday life, beyond the fickleness of people whose opinions and actions change like the wind. I can trust Him even when everything around me seems to be changing.

 

A/P~

Unbreakable spiritual lifeline

You stretch strong and tight

A three-strand rope to the light

Of justice, truth and love.

All around me opinions shimmer

Religious mirages, false perceptions

Unanchored hopes.

Relationships…

Circumstances…

Governments…

Churches…

Rise and fall, come and go

Like the tides

And if I foolishly choose to cling to one of them

I become a grain of sand

Drawn in, then pulled back out to sea

Lost in the undertow of roiling waves

Of uncertainty.

So I refuse!

I hold fast to my anchor of truth.

Your Word sets me free.

YOU set me free.

You are my

Unbreakable

Spiritual

Lifeline

Leave a Reply

