Persistence Pays Off

The following is taken from my SOAP journal notes.

Wait – WHAT is THAT? 

I’m glad you asked. SOAP is an acrostic for a Bible study method developed by Wayne Cordiero. You can learn more about it at Discover One Thing here. You’ll also find daily blog entries with several Godly folks’ SOAP notes to inspire and encourage you on your own journey of getting to know God better through His Word. Join us!

August 6: Habakkuk 1-3, John 8

S~ Look at that man, bloated by self-importance –
Full of himself but soul-empty.
But the person in right standing before God through loyal and steady believing

Is fully alive, really alive.
-Habakkuk 2:4 MSG

If you stick with this, living out what I tell you, you are my disciples for sure. Then you will experience for yourselves the truth, and the truth will free you.
-John 8:31-32 MSG

O~ Persistence pays off:
–       Loyal and steady believing…
–       Sticking this out… living out what Jesus tells us…

leads to:
–       Being fully alive
–       Being set free by the truth.

A~ When I’m tempted to slack off in diligently seeking God and living for Him, it’s a signal that I’m getting focused on self  (“Bloated by self-importance, full of myself”) and in danger of becoming soul-empty.

Put in these unattractive terms – the reality of selfishness and self-centeredness thrust against the pure beauty of a rewarding God-following life – the temptation’s gross lie is fully revealed.

And I want none of it, and I want everything of the fully, truly, freely alive life, even if it comes at a cost to my own self-importance.

P~ Lord, help me see the blind spots in my life where selfishness controls my actions and attitude. Reveal those places for what they are: prisons. Help me to set aside self so I can live in the abundance You offer: truly alive, truly free. Let me life shine for YOU today and bring YOU glory..

Leave a Reply

