The Breadth of Our Influence: SOAP August 16

The_Denial_of_Saint_Peter-Caravaggio_(1610)

The following is taken from my SOAP journal notes.

 

Wait – WHAT is THAT? 

 

I’m glad you asked. SOAP is an acrostic for a Bible study method developed by Wayne Cordiero. You can learn more about it at Discover One Thing here. You’ll also find daily blog entries with several Godly folks’ SOAP notes to inspire and encourage you on your own journey of getting to know God better through His Word. Join us!

August 16: 2 Ki. 24; Jer. 22; Ps. 112; John 18

S~ But one of the household slaves of the high priest, a relative of the man whose ear Peter had cut off, asked, “Didn’t I see you out there in the olive grove with Jesus?” – John 18:26

O~ This short phrase – ‘a relative of the man whose ear Peter had cut off’ – has somehow eluded me in previous readings and retellings of Peter’s denial of Jesus.

It makes me think of Moses, who looked and thought he was alone when he killed the Egyptian, only to be called out by another Israelite soon afterwards.

A~ We cannot know who is watching us – in our neighborhood, the grocery store, at work, at school, in that seemingly deserted hallway, on the internet. And while that is not a cause for paranoia, it is a cause to carefully consider the daily testimony we live with our words and actions.

What great comfort comes in knowing that God still mightily used Moses and Peter even after they very publicly blew it. I wonder if that household slave ever had opportunity to hear Peter’s testimony after that night – to witness the transformation and the grace that he personally experienced, the grace that compelled him to share Christ with others.

P~ Lord, I have many regrets from my past… I have regrets from this week! Who knows who has witnessed my straying moments? I am so grateful for Your grace, and I am sorry for the times when my sin has stained my testimony. I am also supremely grateful that You are greater than my sin – You are stronger than my failure – and Your plan for those people who may have witnessed my failures can be accomplished in spite of me. I pray for their salvation, Lord, for grace to cover their lives as it has mine. And I pray that You would daily continue to sanctify me, to make me more like You, so I will shine more consistently.

Leave a Reply

