Sharing the Vision: August 18 SOAP

 

The following is taken from my SOAP journal notes.

 

Wait – WHAT is THAT? 

 

I’m glad you asked. SOAP is an acrostic for a Bible study method developed by Wayne Cordiero. You can learn more about it at Discover One Thing here. You’ll also find daily blog entries with several Godly folks’ SOAP notes to inspire and encourage you on your own journey of getting to know God better through His Word. Join us!

Today’s Reading: Jer. 26, 35, 36; John 20

 

S~ Mary Magdalene found the disciples and told them, “I have seen the Lord!” Then she gave them his message. – John 20:18

IMG_0977

O~

  1. She encountered Jesus, worshiped Him, and submitted to Him as her teacher.
  2. He spoke to her – words just for her, and words for others.
  3. She hurried and shared His words.

 

Poor Jeremiah; in our reading today, God gave him words and he spoke them – but the words were hard, and the audience was unreceptive, and the backlash against Jeremiah was severe.

 

Jeremiah and Mary were both blessed by encounters with the One True God. They were both radically transformed. They were both obedient. The results of their obedience were not up to them – they experienced those results and had to live through them, and were affected by them, but they were not responsible for them.

 

A~ My responsibility is to pursue God, listen, and submit in obedience to His call. I am not responsible for the reactions of people around me to that call.

 

P~ Lord, for a codependent person like me, this is a life-giving word. I all too often fall prey to fear of hurting other people’s feelings or making them uncomfortable, and end up choosing disobedience to You. Lord, writing that out makes me realize just how foolish and rebellious my people-pleasing can be. It keeps me from fulfilling Your purposes in my life. I am sorry for placing other people in front of You… for choosing fear over obedience. Your words to me are so life-giving, so joyful. It is foolishness NOT to share them! But it takes the discipline of stilling myself before You to receive them, and that is hard. Thank You for Your grace, always available to cover my sin. Thank You for today’s new mercies. Thank You for this season of refreshment that’s equipping me and spurring me on to a new place of greater obedience. Open my eyes to see my daily encounters with You, and give me boldness to joyfully share You with others.

 

Leave a Reply

